Who Am I?

The quintessential question, particularly for the missionary kid (MK). Our identity can be hard to determine as we grow up influenced by more than 1 culture and place. Poems and songs express this question of who we are. For me, growing up in Bangladesh with American parents, I had a mix of the Bangladesh culture and the American culture in the way I was raised. Also a factor was living on the missionary compound with other American missionaries and missionary kids, a sub-culture within the Bangladesh culture. Here are some songs and poems that reflect the question of Who Am I?

A poem I wrote – Who Am I?

Who am I
That I should go
To be a light
Your love to show
Who am I
That I should be
An instrument
You use to free
Who am I
Unworthy one
Your worth to give
Grace of Your Son
Who am I
That I should live
Praising Your name
Blessings to give
Who am I
Your servant, Lord
Use how You will
My life outpoured.

(below is written by an anonymous MK – found here)
When I was growing up, adults always asked me what I was going to be, but there came a time when what I was going to be wasn’t as important as who I was.  Everyone questions who they are and MKs are not exception.
Who is an MK?  I am a combination of two cultures. I am neither and I am both.  I am the brat who throws a
temper tantrum and refuses to dress native for the American church.  I am the six-year-old who cries herself to sleep the first two weeks away from home. I am the one who complained about eating oatmeal everyday of my life, yet I am the one who orders oatmeal at the restaurant just for old times’ sake.
I am the one who desperately worries about fitting in, but I am the one who wears my native wrap around
the college dorm and doesn’t care what anyone thinks.  I am the one who has lived under strict school rules,
and I am the one who returns to America and questions what my real values are.  I am the one the churches
make a saint out of, and the one some people pity and laugh at. I am the one who traveled halfway around the
world before I was four, and I am the one who has no home.  I am the one who promises to write, but never does because it’s too difficult to deal with the reality of separation.  I am the one who has seen the devil dancers, and I am the one who has seen the rock concerts.
I am the one who knows and understands world missions, life and death, heaven and hell.  I am the one
who has seen God work miracles. I am the one who knows prayer works, but I am the one who sometimes finds it difficult to pray.
I am the one who has learned to live with a politically unstable government, and I am the one who waits impatiently by the phone for news that everything is safe.  I am the one who has spent only three months a year at home.  Yet I know, beyond question, that my parents are the best in the whole world.  I am the
one who speaks two languages, but can’t spell either.  I am the one who has devotions from a French Bible.
I am the one who wears a thousand masks, one for each day and time.  I am the one who learned to be all I’m expected to be, but is still not sure of who I really am.  I am the one who chooses my college by where my friends are because nobody understands an MK like another MK.  I am the one who laughs and cries, sings and prays, gets angry and doubts, fears and questions, expects and receives, hopes and dreams.  And I am one who cares.
I am an MK, and I am proud of it!
–Anonymous MK

Song by Casting Crowns – Who Am I
Who am I?
That the Lord of all the earth,
Would care to know my name,
Would care to feel my hurt.
Who am I?
That the bright and morning star,
Would choose to light the way,
For my ever wandering heart.

Bridge:
Not because of who I am,
But because of what you’ve done.
Not because of what I’ve done,
But because of who you are.

Chorus:
I am a flower quickly fading,
Here today and gone tomorrow,
A wave tossed in the ocean,
A vapor in the wind.
Still you hear me when I’m calling,
Lord, you catch me when I’m falling,
And you’ve told me who I am.
I am yours.
I am yours.

Who am I?
That the eyes that see my sin
Would look on me with love
And watch me rise again.
Who am I?
That the voice that calmed the sea,
Would call out through the rain,
And calm the storm in me.

Not because of who I am,
But because of what you’ve done.
Not because of what I’ve done,
But because of who you are.

I am a flower quickly fading,
Here today and gone tomorrow,
A wave tossed in the ocean,
A vapor in the wind.
Still you hear me when I’m calling,
Lord, you catch me when I’m falling,
And you’ve told me who I am.
I am yours.

Not because of who I am,
But because of what you’ve done.
Not because of what I’ve done,
But because of who you are.

I am a flower quickly fading,
Here today and gone tomorrow,
A wave tossed in the ocean,
A vapor in the wind.
Still you hear me when I’m calling,
Lord, you catch me when I’m falling,
And you’ve told me who I am.
I am yours.
I am yours.
I am yours.

Whom shall I fear
Whom shall I fear
Cause I am yours..
I am yours..
(From this site)




Point of Grace – song Who Am I (found here)

Over time You’ve healed so much in me,
And I am living proof.
That although my darkest hour had come,
Your light could still shine through.
Though at times it’s just enough to cast,
A shadow on the wall.
I am grateful that you’ve shined your light on me at all.


(chorus)
Who Am I,
That you would love me so gently?
Who Am I,
that you would recognize my name?
Who Am I,
that you would speak to me so softly?
Conversation with the Lord most high.
Who Am I?


Oh Amazing Grace how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost,
But now am found.
Was blind,
But now I see.
And the more I sing that sweet old song,
The more I understand.
that I do not comprehend this love that’s coming from your hand.


(repeat chorus)


Grace, grace.
God’s grace.
Grace that will pardon, and cleanse within.
Grace, grace.
God’s great grace.
Grace that is greater than all my sin.


(repeat chorus)


Lord, Who Am I?
Who Am I?
Lord Who Am I?
Who Am I?
Who Am I?

Leave a Reply

