Lies Women Believe – About Marriage

Lie: I have to have a husband to be happy.
Truth: Happiness is not found in (or out of) marriage. No one person can meet my needs or make me truly happy. True joy can only be found through Christ.

Lie: It is my responsibility to change my mate.
Truth: A godly life and prayer are a wife’s two greatest means of influencing her husband.

Lie: My husband is supposed to serve me.
Truth: If I expect to be served, I will be disappointed. If I seek to serve without expecting anything in return, I will never be disappointed.

Lie: If I submit to my husband, I’ll be miserable!
Truth: Submission places me under the covering and protection of God.

Lie: If my husband is passive, I’ve got to take the initiative, or nothing will get done.
Truth: In God’s design for marriage, the husband is the initiator. If a woman takes the reins rather than waiting on God to move her husband, her husband is likely to be less motivated to fulfill his God-given responsibility.

Lie: Sometimes divorce is a better option than staying in a bad marriage.
Truth: Marriage is a lifelong covenant. There is no marriage that God cannot heal. There is no person God cannot change. God’s grace is sufficient, even in the most difficult or extreme circumstances.

Having unrealistic expectations for a marriage set women up for disappointment, discouragement, and discontent when their expectations are not met. When a wife continually focuses on her husband’s faults she gets demanding and tries to take over God’s responsibility in changing her husband. James 5:16 and I Peter 3:1 show us that we are to focus on God and our own lives in order to be an example.
A benefit of submission for a wife is the peace that she has knowing that she is fulfilling her God-given role. Some possible consequences of a wife’s resisting God-ordained authority include conflict with her husband, arguments and disagreements. A woman can cause her husband to be bitter if she tries to take the role that he was meant to have.

Pray for your marriage to bring glory to God and bring a picture of His redeeming love.
Pray that each spouse would be committed to the permanence of marriage and live out the role that God has for them in their marriage.
Pray for spiritual protection against deception and Satan’s schemes.
Pray for struggling marriages and ask for God’s grace for working through issues of conflict.

Leave a Reply

