Twenty Years Flashback

20 years ago today, I graduated from high school. While this is a momentous occasion for anyone, what made it especially momentous for me was that I was not only leaving high school, but my family, my friends, my culture, my country and home. Graduation from high school for a Missionary Kid is a much bigger deal than most high school graduations. It usually means leaving the country that has been our home to go back to the country that is our parents’ home.
I attended a Christian school in Nairobi, Kenya for my last 2 years of high school, where I graduated as part of a class of 19 students. We were the 2nd graduating class for our school, Rosslyn Academy. Being in Kenya, we were able to graduate outside (fortunately the weather held), and the bell choir played our processional. I was the salutatorian of the class but didn’t have to give a speech as that was left to the valedictorian and the class-elected student speaker.
My mom’s mom and some family friends were able to come to Kenya for my high school graduation. My Grandma’s birthday is also today, so for her 74th birthday she got to watch one of her grandchildren graduate from high school. Today she turns 94, is still living, and has quite a legacy. When I returned to the US after high school graduation, her home became my permanent address and the place I would go to for school breaks since my parents remained overseas.
As I look back at that day 20 years ago, and that time in my life, so much has changed. I’ve grown so far since that 18 year old girl, just starting out on her adventure in life. Yet, even at that age, I had experienced so much and was enriched from all the traveling and experiences that I had gone through to that point. Those experiences were the foundation for me as I headed out on my own. That day 20 years ago was a life-changing day, a turning point in my life. So thankful for all that God has brought me through since that day and thankful for His faithfulness as I look ahead. The journey continues.

One thought on “Twenty Years Flashback

  1. Debbie, Wow…20 years! Hard to believe. 🙂 One thing I truly wish we could do would be to sit around and share our journeys since high school, and how God has used our Kenyan heritage to shape us. We wouldn't be the people we are today without that history, even though there may have been definite bumps in the road as we left our home in Africa for a new life, and a new home, in our various countries. Thank you for the post! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

