Why Read the Bible in 90 Days?

Bible in 90 Days

When embarking on a venture of this magnitude, it is good to know the reasons behind why we are doing it. Then when the difficulty sets in or discouragement tries to raise its ugly head, the reasons for why we are doing it can be a reminder and encouragement to keep going. Mom’s Toolbox is hosting this next read-through of the Bible in 90 Days going from August 20 through November 17. They’ve asked us to think about why we are doing this.

For me, I have been interested in doing this since I first heard about the idea. I love the idea of being thoroughly immersed in God’s Word. And reading large chunks of Scripture at a time, getting the big picture of God’s Story in a way that isn’t as possible when reading the Bible in a year (or longer). While I have read through the Bible several times in the course of my life, it’s always been over the course of a year or longer so reading it in a shorter amount of time allows me to see the flow much better than when it is spread out over the course of a year or more.

Why am I doing this? To better know the Bible and to see the big picture more clearly. I will be reading through it chronologically and using the Bible in 90 Days Bible in the NIV version. Most of the Bibles I have are study Bibles and would be too distracting with the notes and commentaries. So I am using this one as it is perfectly designed for the purpose.
The Bible in 90 Days: Cover to Cover in 12 Pages a Day (New International Version)

One thought on “Why Read the Bible in 90 Days?

  1. I totally agree with you. My reasons for loving to read the Bible through more quickly are: being thoroughly immersed in God’s Word, seeing the big picture, and just loving spending more time listening to my Lord speak.

    Like

Leave a Reply

