Bible in 90 Days Completed

Whew! I actually did it! I finished the Bible in 90 days, actually completed in 79 days. I have always struggled when trying to read through the Bible in a year. I don’t think I have ever actually completed in a year. I have completed reading through the Bible, but it usually takes more than the allotted year. The point is to read through the Bible, not to complete it in a given amount of time.
I wanted to read the Bible in 90 days to read large chunks of Scripture at a time and to get an overview of the whole story of the Bible. But I wasn’t sure I could actually do it as I’ve always had a hard time completing the Bible in a year, let alone trying to read through it that much quicker. But I thought I would try it and if I didn’t make it, at least I had made an attempt at it. I tend to give up on things when I get stressed or discouraged, so I didn’t know if I would actually be able to stick with it and make it all the way through.

When our cat died at the end of September, I thought that might be the test that would cause me to fail in getting through the Bible in the 90 days. I had expected something to happen during the course of the reading to throw me off, though certainly not something as difficult and tragic as losing our beloved pet. But God was gracious! By that time in the reading, I was well into the habit of reading every day and in spite of my grief, I was able to continue in the habit of reading. God helped me to keep on in spite of the circumstances surrounding me.

And the reward for doing this is so worth it! This was a wonderful experience of being immersed in God’s Word and getting the big picture of what He is doing. I loved doing this! I highly recommend taking the opportunity to do this at some point in your life. I wasn’t able to do much other reading, which was hard. But it was worth giving up in order to accomplish this. It will require giving up things to make time for it. But I am so glad that I did! I am glad that God helped me to stick with it and follow through.

4 thoughts on “Bible in 90 Days Completed

  1. I'm so glad this worked for you!!! I unofficially did this once–without signing up–and it did change my reading habits for the better! After getting used to spending that much time in the Word it was almost impossible for me to change my habits back to spending less time in the Word. Which is a good thing I think!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

