2013 Operation Deepen Faith

Operation Deepen Faith is happening for 2013 – you can find out more at this post.

I. Wonderful Words of Life. Goal: Try the MacArthur method of reading one (short, NT) book of the Bible 30 times in a month (or close to it).  (NOTE: 6/19/13 – GAVE UP, PROBABLY WON’T DO)
 – I plan to do Colossians, in various different translations, not sure what month yet.

III. Deep and Wide; Goal: read multiple books of the bible in multiple translations. (NOTE: 6/19/13 – GAVE UP ON THIS)
 – I plan to read Romans, James, 1 Timothy, 2 Peter and Habakkuk in multiple translations
Here is my translations tracking chart:



NASB
NLT
ESV
HCSB
New Century
NET Bible
 NIV
Romans
X
James
1 Timothy
X X X X
2 Peter
Habakkuk

IV.  Meditate or Memorize
 – I plan to memorize Philippians 3. When I was in college, I memorized the whole book of Philippians. I can’t recite it now, but am hoping it will make re-memorizing Philippians 3 a bit easier.
VI. Christian Nonfiction
 – this will be pretty simple as I’m mostly reading Christian non-fiction anyway. I’m not going to worry about a list or a number as I’m already doing this.
One thought on “2013 Operation Deepen Faith

  1. Just discovered this post. Thanks for the ideas! I think so often our problem with Bible reading is we keep trying the same method (typically read through entire bible in a year plan)over and over again. Gotta spice things up and try different methods and versions too!! I like the translation tracking chart! Being able to check something off helps me feel like I'm accomplishing something, which helps me keep at it too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

