The Beauty that is a Godly Legacy

Frances Bunts
June 11, 1918 – August 10, 2013

One of my earliest memories is at my Grandma Bunts’ house when I was about 5 years old. I was upset after having to take standardized tests at a local school. Growing up where my world was constantly changing and moving, my grandma’s house in upstate New York was a constant that was always there. Though when we were in the States for furlough, the house we lived in was about a half hour away, we spent much time at Grandma’s house when we were in the US. Her church was a 2nd church home for me. One of my close friends growing up was a girl from her church.

When I graduated from high school in Kenya, my grandma came out to Kenya for my high school graduation. I then returned to the States with her and another couple while my family remained in Kenya. I spent that summer alternating between her house and a cousin’s house who was my age and was also going to Baptist Bible College that fall as a freshman.

In the fall of 1992, I went to Baptist Bible College in Clarks Summit, PA. My grandma helped move me down to college. She lived about an hour and a half away. I was able to go visit her during my college breaks. Grandma Bunts’ home was my home away from college. She listened to me cry over a boyfriend breakup and gladly listened to me recite the book of Philippians to her. She was a constant in my life of continual change.

After finishing college and a year of working and living in PA, I moved out to Michigan and then got married. Over the years I didn’t see Grandma very much though we would talk on the phone occasionally. Earlier this year I was able to visit her when I was in New York for my other grandma’s funeral. In June of this year, she celebrated turning 95.

Grandma finally was able to go to her true Home and meet her Savior. She faithfully served the Lord throughout her life. A godly example to all those around her, she loved God and was an amazing influence on those whose lives she touched. And those lives were many – those in the church that she grew up in, her husband and 11 children, 36 grandchildren and many great grandchildren. She has left behind an amazing legacy of what it means to follow God and serve Him.

Harold & Frances Bunts, 
with 9 of their 11 children: Elwyn, Ruthie, Carol, Doris, Bette Paul, Anita, Kathy & Priscilla
Frances (Grandma) Bunts – with 10 of her 11 children
Right to Left: Fred, Len, Ruthie, Elwyn, Carol, Doris, Bette, Paul, Kathy & Priscilla
Grandma and I – Thanksgiving 2000
Leave a Reply

