Critical Mass by Sara Paretsky

Critical Mass (V.I. Warshawski, #16)Critical Mass by Sara Paretsky
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One of my favorite mystery series is the V.I. Warshawski books by Sara Paretsky. When I found out the latest one, Critical Mass was available for review, I jumped at the chance to review it. I have enjoyed reading Warshawski’s tales of adventure through the years. She ages along with the series and the technology grows and changes with her as well, making the books realistic. V.I. is a private detective who somehow manages to find herself in the thick of life-threatening situations while she is investigating various mysteries. In this book, her close friend, a Holocaust survivor from Austria, gets a call from a childhood friend’s daughter, who is a drug addict and seems to find herself in various predicaments as a result. When V.I.’s friend asks her to check it out, she stumbles upon a dead body, but it isn’t the addict. In the midst of trying to find the missing drug addict, she finds out the addict’s son is also missing. The trail of finding him leads her down a road leading all the way back to World War II and the Holocaust, with scientists and their inventions.
Once again, Paretsky draws us into V.I.’s life, the obstacles she encounters in her investigation and the people who she meets along the way. This was a page-turner, trying to figure out what was going on. I thoroughly enjoyed this latest venture in V.I.’s life!

*this book was sent to me by the publisher in exchange for my review

Leave a Reply

