Goal Setting and New Years

There’s something about the start of a new year that brings out the goal-setting side of me. The idea of a new beginning, a fresh start is invigorating. Yet, in reality, every day is a new start, a fresh beginning. Perhaps it’s the idea of a new year that brings out the reflection of what has happened over the course of the last year and the hopes and dreams of the coming year. The start of a new year is a good time to reflect on what we’ve learned over the last year and set goals for the coming year.

As much as I like to set goals, I also want to be realistic. So this year, my goals are simple and aimed toward things I was planning on doing.

1. Lead a group through the Bible in 90 Days.
    This is scheduled for February 1 – May 1 and there is a Facebook group set up for this purpose. You can go here and ask to join.

2. Memorize Ephesians 2.
   I was pleased to be part of a group with Do Not Depart that memorized Ephesians 1 this fall. I want to go on and memorize the rest of the book but am just going to work on chapter 2 for now.

3. Read through Bible using the Professor Grant Horner’s plan.
   This is the 8-Month plan I hope to use from May – December.

4. Do study of I Don’t Have Enough Faith to be an Atheist with another couple.
    Jono and I hope to go through this book with another couple.

5. Be part of my church’s Wednesday morning ladies’ Bible study group.
    Now that I won’t be working full-time, I hope to join the Wednesday morning ladies’ group at my church. They will be going through Bonhoeffer’s The Cost of Discipleship.

6. Read at least 75 books.
    My reading has been down a bit the last couple of years and am hoping to get more read this year now that I will be home more.

Do you set goals or resolutions? What are your reading and study plans for 2014?

Leave a Reply

