Re-Reading and Reading Lists

Organizing my want-to-read (otherwise known as TBR or to-be-read) lists of unread books is like trying to put an octopus inside a mesh bag without any of the legs coming out. 🙂 Then there are the books that I’ve read in the past that I want to read again. It’s hard to pick up a book to re-read when there are so many out there that I still want to read for the first time. Yet re-reading them can bring out new things that I had forgotten from the first time reading, particularly with non-fiction.

My list of physical books owned that I’d like to read

My list of books to re-read

I have a TON of Kindle books. The “priority” list of ones I want to read are here. But there are more than those books on my Kindle that I hope to get to at some point also. My list of Kindle books is here. Granted, some of those are already read but still on my Kindle. And some of those are more reference works, such as cookbooks/recipes. But still, that’s a lot of books!

Then there are the books I want to read that I don’t own but can get through the inter-library loan. To keep track of those books I use Google Docs and add to the list as I discover books and check to see if they can be requested through the library. I also have a list of some of them on my goodreads shelf here. If they are not available through inter-library loan, then I generally will add them to my paperbackswap wishlist. So the lists just grow and grow.

In order to feel like I’m making some sort of progress through the lists, I try to work on mostly my unread lists of books. But the re-reads call to me as well. So my hope is to try to re-read up to 5 of my re-read books during the course of a year. In particular, the ones I’m hoping to get to this year include

Living By the Book: The Art and Science of Reading the Bible
Living by the Book by Howard Hendricks and William Hendricks

How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth
How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth by Gordon Fee and Douglas Stuart

Trusting God: Even When Life Hurts
Trusting God by Jerry Bridges

Knowing God
Knowing God by J.I. Packer

Do you make lists of books to read? What about re-reading?

Leave a Reply

