Bonhoeffer on the Christian Life

Bonhoeffer on the Christian Life: From the Cross, for the WorldBonhoeffer on the Christian Life: From the Cross, for the World by Stephen J. Nichols
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I couldn’t get into this book. The writing didn’t really grab me and didn’t seem to flow. I tried flipping through it to look at different sections but nothing jumped out at me to pull me back into the book. It seems to be a good overview of what Bonhoeffer taught and believed. Starting off with his christology and then going into his views on living in community, which many know of because of his book Life Together. It then breaks down the different disciplines of the Christian life: the Word, prayer, and confession.
Some other topics are covered for the rest of the book. For those interested in Bonhoeffer, they may find this a good overview. The end of the book gives the books that he wrote and also books that were written about him. I wanted to like this book but just couldn’t get into it.

*I was given a copy of this book free from the publisher Crossway in exchange for a review.

2 thoughts on “Bonhoeffer on the Christian Life

  1. I've started Wesley on the Christian Life and am already engaged with it. I did like the Warfield one and the Calvin one. So something about this one just didn't grab me but overall the series has been great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

