Hit List by Brian Hedges

Hit List: Taking Aim at the Seven Deadly SinsHit List: Taking Aim at the Seven Deadly Sins by Brian G. Hedges
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The 7 Deadly Sins
Though these are not necessarily addressed as such in the Bible, the list of the 7 deadly sins has been around for many years. What makes these sins considered so deadly is that generally they are at the root of many other sins. Wrath or anger leads to bitterness, revenge or other sins. Lust leads to sexual immorality and pride leads to selfishness, while gluttony produces ingratitude or discontent. Most of us struggle with at least one of these sins in our lives.
This book takes a look at each of these sins, giving examples of how they are manifested in our lives and then giving steps of how we can overcome them. The 7 deadly sins are listed as pride, envy, wrath, sloth, greed, gluttony and lust. In a quick overview, the author tackles each sin and goes beyond our initial idea of what the sin is and describes in further detail how we may fall into this sin without realizing it. For example, often people associate gluttony with over-eating. But gluttony can also be making food our idol or using it to fill an emptiness in our lives rather than turning to God.
A quick read and a convicting one – challenging the Christian to address these sins. A practical book for any believer to help in our daily struggle against the sin in our lives.

“Seeing sin more clearly as the foolish and fatal attempt to find satisfaction apart from God should provoke both sorrow and hope in our hearts.”
“This is a helpful working definition of pride. Pride is thinking much about one’s self and much of one’s self.”
“Is not the most effective way of bridling my delight in being made much of, to focus on making much of God?”
“The great secret to humility is not to focus on yourself at all, but to fill your mind and heart with the glory of God revealed in the sin-conquering death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.”
“sloth is characterized by carelessness, unwillingness to act, half-hearted effort, and becoming easily discouraged by any possible difficulty.”
“Gluttony is the prioritization of our bodily appetites over spiritual reality. Gluttony is a worship disorder.”

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher Cruciform Press in exchange for my review.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s