The Tyranny of Books

I’ve been attending BSF this year (Bible Study Fellowship) and studying the Life of Moses. Each week we’re given some notes and questions to go over, studying sections of the Bible on our own. Then once a week we meet with a discussion group and discuss the questions we did, then sit through a lecture on the passages we studied. This past week in the lecture, the speaker talked about how possessions can often possess us, owning us rather than us owning them. In reality God owns everything and all that we have is a gift from Him for our stewardship.
This struck me in regards to all the books I own. Often I get obsessed with what I’m currently reading, how soon I can finish a book so I can pick up the next one, or what I’m going to read next. I have so many books that I want to read and I want to read them all NOW! 🙂 It becomes a distraction and causes me to stress over how quickly I can read and get through books so I can move on to the next ones. What about just the sheer joy of reading? I read to learn; why can’t I just relax and learn from what I’m currently reading without thinking about what I’ll read next? Books start to possess me rather than me possessing them.
In reality God owns it all anyway. And learning doesn’t do me any good if I’m not putting into action what I’m learning. People are more important than books. And if I’m spending my time and energy focusing on books and what I plan to read instead of the people that are in my life, then I’m not pleasing God. So rather than obsessing over how many books I can get through in a year, I need to focus instead on the people God has put in my life and how I can best encourage them and help them to learn and grow also.

2 thoughts on “The Tyranny of Books

Leave a Reply

