Taking a Facebook Break

I’ve found that being on Facebook can cause me to become easily irritated and frustrated. And then discouraged. Frustrated at all the bad theology and out-of-context verses, the lack of biblical literacy, and the lack of discernment or desire to even be shown the truth. People like their little comfort bubbles and they don’t like to be told or shown that they are wrong. I’m no exception to that. However, if I’m wrong about something, particularly when it comes to God’s Word, I would like to know so that I can determine for myself where I might have faulty information or be incorrect. Even if it means a favorite teacher of mine is shown to be faulty, I would rather know God’s truth and be consistent with His Word. I’m more attached to God and His Word than I am to any human teacher, at least I would like to think that I am. But it seems nowadays that people are more attached to their favorite Bible teacher than they are to God’s Word. When they are shown the error or false teaching of a particular pastor or teacher, they don’t want to hear it. They want to continue in the error because of the emotional attachment they have to the person. “I’ve learned so much from them and grown so much in my Christian walk because of them” seems to be the common excuse. Just because a teacher is helpful and growth occurred doesn’t mean they are infallible. God can use people in spite of themselves. But once false teaching is shown, isn’t it better to go with what God’s Word says than to cling to the person promoting the false teaching? We are too caught up in our emotional experiences and not grounded enough in the truth of God’s Word.
So being on Facebook brings so much of this out and causes me to get angry at the lack of discernment so prevalent even among Christians. And trying to share the truth is like hitting my head against a brick wall. Most people just don’t want to hear it. It appears to be an exercise in futility. Why do I want to continually bang my head without getting any results? And so much of it is superficial anyway. It seems better to develop real relationships face-to-face, to have the accountability to encourage each other to grow, to share concerns and be edified. There can be good that comes out of Facebook and the relationships there. But right now for me, the bad is outweighing the good. And I need to walk away from it for a while to gain some perspective, to see if it’s really worth it.

3 thoughts on “Taking a Facebook Break

  1. I noticed your absence Debi. And totally understand. I've thought of taking a break myself for different but similar (haha if that makes sense) reasons. Intense frustration, etc. I'll miss you if you don't return. Maybe a breather is what you need. If you don't return I hope you'll still blog sometimes. Laura

    Like

  2. I started making note that there were more negative fruits coming out of Facebook use than positive ones. I don't know if it was due to the friends I accepted and what they were saying or what? I took a break over a year ago. I didn't miss it. I actually enjoyed not being tied to i! All I know is I left it and my life has been so much less cluttered mentally.

    Like

Leave a Reply

