My Journey into Teaching

Last year as I began the journey of starting to teach and lead studies, I started a private blog to chronicle the journey. I’ve decided to take those posts and transfer them here to this main blog, perhaps to be edifying to others who might be on similar journeys in discovering their ministry gifts and passions. The below post was originally published on October 9, 2014 with the title: “Time to Dust This One Off”.

Granted, this is a private blog for selected readers, but I think I’m going to “resurrect” it and maybe invite a few select friends to join me on this journey as I leap into the world of teaching and leading Bible studies. It seems to be an up and down journey of excitement and deflatement, giddiness and discouragement. I think chronicling it might help me to work through some of the emotions that seem to be part of the experience.
James 3:1 – “Not many of you should become teachers, my fellow believers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly.” (NIV)
A sober warning that I want to heed. Yet in considering this verse, I also have a passion to tell (or teach) others about the Bible and try to get them as excited about it as I am. I do think that God has gifted me in this area and will lead with opportunities as He sees fit. I just need to be open and follow along. So far I’ve learned:
-I don’t know what I’m doing – definitely need some training
-It’s not about me – what people think of me shouldn’t matter
-It is about God – showing others Who He is and awakening a desire within them to follow Him
-I have a long way to go with handling my emotions
-I need humility!!
Discouragement seems to come often and in various forms. Sad that sometimes it comes from other Christians. Which should not be, but alas, in this fallen world, Christians still hurt each other rather than encourage each other.

Leave a Reply

