The Happy Christian by David Murray

The Happy Christian: Ten Ways to Be a Joyful Believer in a Gloomy WorldThe Happy Christian: Ten Ways to Be a Joyful Believer in a Gloomy World by David P. Murray
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I had heard great things about this book. It was an easy read and had good things to say. Yet it didn’t really grab me. If it hadn’t been a review book, I may not have continued reading it. Though I attribute part of this to my being distracted by other things going on in my life while I was trying to read this.
I think overall, the book is very practical and challenges us to be mindful of how we look at things. One of the points that stood out to me was finding God’s common grace in the world, in those we come into contact with who may not believe as we do and yet have truth to say to us. Also the section on forgiveness was interesting. His take on how we are to forgive as God forgives and then explaining what that means was different than I’ve ever heard before on the topic of forgiveness.
I would recommend this book to those who may struggle with finding good in life. It is a helpful and practical book to look at things from a positive perspective.

*I received a copy of this book free from the publisher through Booklook Bloggers in exchange for my review.

3 thoughts on “The Happy Christian by David Murray

  1. I am amused by this book. Also looked at the link's description. The book I have just written seems the opposite. haha. “Murray exposes modern negativity's insidious roots.” My book traces the insidious roots of positive thinking (!!) and the negative effects it has had on Christianity. I'd have to see/read Murray's book myself to more understand where he is coming from. But I don't think I observe a big problem with gloom among Christians. Well, maybe there is a gloomy outlook with Christians who are obsessed with end-time events and prophecy. Or maybe he is thinking of Christians who get gloomy about the moral decay of our culture? But I observe more of a lopsided emphasis on success, prosperity, blind optimism, etc in too many Christian circles. But I just looked on amazon about this book and see that JI Packer endorsed it and I am on the same wavelength as Packer on just about everything. So maybe I am not quite getting the book! I know you said the book did not grab you, but do you remember any of the examples or history he offers of gloom and negative thinking?

    Like

  2. The introduction talks about the pessimistic culture we live in – the bad news of disasters, unemployment, racial tension, etc. I guess it depends on what group you look at.

    Like

Leave a Reply

