Gospel Conversations by Robert Kellemen

Gospel Conversations: How to Care Like Christ (Equipping Biblical Counselors)Gospel Conversations: How to Care Like Christ by Robert W. Kellemen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book actually follows Gospel-Centered Counseling, which I have not read, so I felt a little lost at the beginning. It is meant to be used as a training manual or textbook for training in biblical counseling. Very practical and hands-on, with questions designed to make you think and be real in community with others. I am considering whether to pursue getting an ACBC (Association of Certified Biblical Counselors) certification, so was interested in reading this book to get some of the principles.
While providing biblical counseling principles, the book also shows what is needed to be an effective biblical counselor. Some of it was a little over my head, but perhaps that is because I haven’t read the previous book and I’m not familiar with some of the terminology. For those who are interested in lay counseling or even just helping others with whom we have a relationship, this book is practical. It provides foundational principles for counseling biblically and takes one through scenarios. I think this would be best utilized in a small group or training class rather than trying to use it on one’s own.

*I received a copy of this book free from the publisher Zondervan in exchange for my review.

One thought on “Gospel Conversations by Robert Kellemen

Leave a Reply

