It’s a Crazy, Beautiful Life

This past weekend I didn’t get a lot accomplished as far as chores or reading, etc., but what an amazing time of being involved with kids! As a coach for Bible Quizzing, I enjoy watching these kids compete with questions regarding the Bible verses they have studied. This past Saturday was an all day tournament with various quiz teams from Michigan, Ohio, and Pennsylvania all competing. I helped co-coach a team, none of whom are on the regular team I coach during the regular quizzes. But I’ve gotten to know all 3 over the past year as they all have been a part of Bible quizzing. The morning quizzes went well and we went into the playoffs in second place. But then the competition really set in! During the afternoon playoffs, we were up against the best teams and the scores were very close and the quizzes rather nail-biting. We ended up doing 3 quizzes and were able to win the quiz that then put us into the finals. I wasn’t sure my heart could take much more of the suspense. We had a chance to relax while the younger quizzers had their finals quiz and then we had the final quiz. And our team was able to win the final quiz to be the champions for the day for varsity quizzing. It was not without a lot of effort! The other quiz teams were very good and it was quite the competition! But to see these kids memorizing God’s Word and quoting it, using it to answer questions, what a blessing! This is something that they will always have – a knowledge of the Bible.

On Sunday afternoon I was able to attend a play put on by the community youth theater in which one of my friend’s daughters had gotten a part. She is also one of my quizzers that I am coaching this year so I wanted to attend the play that she was in. I was impressed with how well done the production was and how well all the kids sang and performed. They did a really good job with it.

Not having kids of my own, I am really enjoying getting to know my friends’ kids and be another adult in their lives. Watching them participate in competitions, being able to encourage them and show interest in their activities, these are ways to impact and make a difference in a young person’s life. And it is fulfilling for me to be a part of their lives and to watch as they grow up and mature. God has wonderfully blessed me with these opportunities and I’m so thankful for them and for these kids. They are impacting me as well.

Leave a Reply

