Calvin’s Institutes

So this year I set out to read through Calvin’s Institutes, using a reading plan that takes you through the Institutes in the course of a year (50 weeks). I wasn’t sure how it would go, but found that it really was just a few pages a day and not that daunting after all. The reading wasn’t too difficult but I’m not sure how much of it I really grasped. I’m not sure I could even do a book review on it now that I’ve finished reading the Institutes.  I’m glad that I read it and Calvin really laid into some people with their errant views, which made for some humorous reading, but I doubt it is something that I would read again. Especially with as many books out there and particularly theology books that I still want to read. I have Louis Berkhof’s to tackle, as well as Millard Erickson’s, Michael Horton’s, Charles Hodge, Norman Geisler, etc. And next year Master’s Seminary and John MacArthur will be publishing a systematic theology. So many out there to digest.

One thought on “Calvin’s Institutes

  1. That’s awesome you made it through! Perseverance! : ) Calvin’s Institutes is still on my list. But other things are higher priority for now.

    “I’m not sure how much of it I really grasped. ” I think you grasped more than you think. Over the years I’ve read quite a few things that either went over my head or I just doubted how much I really grasped. But later on, to my surprise, facts or concepts would come to my mind – and I’d realize more sunk in than I thought.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

