God Does His Best Work with Empty

God Does His Best Work with Empty by Nancy Guthrie

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


What a fabulous book! This was very timely for me as we go through a struggle of job loss and waiting on God to provide. Such good reminders in this book of God’s faithfulness to His people. Nancy uses stories of emptiness in the Bible to show us how God uses emptiness to do a work in His people. He is the One that satisfies and fills.
The chapter on Habakkuk was great! “In spite of loss we can rejoice, confident that all we truly need is ours in Christ.” We look at how God has acted in the past, so we can trust Him for our future. “When Habakkuk looked around at his present reality, he could not see that God was doing anything at all. But he looked back at what God had done in the past for his people, and he considered what God had promised to do in the future, and on that basis he chose to trust God in the present.”
Her paraphrase of Habakkuk 3:17-19:
Even if my income dries up
And my savings are gone,
Even if I face a devastating diagnosis
And lose my dignity in the process,

Even if my integrity is questioned
And my reputation ruined;
Yet I will choose daily to be happy in Christ.
I will smile at the future because I am protected and provided for in Christ.

None of these things is the source of my strength or security; God alone is my strength.
Christ in me enables me to navigate dangerous and difficult circumstances.
Because of Christ, I know that my future is full of glory.

One thought on “God Does His Best Work with Empty

Leave a comment