No Little Women by Aimee Byrd

No Little Women: Equipping All Women in the Household of GodNo Little Women: Equipping All Women in the Household of God by Aimee Byrd

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was “preaching to the choir” as they say, for it echoes much of what I have seen in the last several years. We are all theologians, but not necessarily good theologians. The “fluff” that is often published for women’s ministries has not helped Christian women to grow in their knowledge of God and His Word. And women are not being equipped to properly discern what is truth and what is error. Aimee tackles this difficult and often emotional topic in this book, challenging women not to be the “little women” that Paul warns about in 2 Timothy 3:6-7: “For among them are those who creep into households and capture weak women, burdened with sins and led astray by various passions, always learning and never able to arrive at a knowledge of the truth.”
While first defining the problem, this book doesn’t just leave us frustrated at what seems to be an insurmountable problem of Biblical illiteracy and lack of discernment. Aimee gives practical advice for how to combat this and equip women in how to be better discerners and studiers of God’s Word. Each chapter has discussion questions at the end for further reflection and thought. She encourages us to read critically and thoughtfully. In the last section she provides excerpts from popular women’s books and asks thoughtful questions to think about what these women are saying compared to God’s Word. In order to better detect error, we must be firmly grounded in the Bible. She also talks about theological triage and what is considered primary or first-order doctrine and is thus heresy, versus secondary doctrines that we might disagree on but still be within orthodoxy. Doctrines like the Trinity, Christ being both fully God and fully man, these are doctrines we cannot compromise on.
A lot of this book resonated with me. I get angry when I see the lack of discernment among Christians and their seemingly whole-hearted acceptance of false doctrine because it makes them feel good. It saddens me to see a lack of Bible knowledge and verses ripped out of context for their warm, fuzzy appeal. It encourages me to see books like this, that others see what I see and want to equip women to know their Bibles and thus know God, having their lives transformed by His truth. It thrills me that I’m not alone in my desire to learn theology and that there are other women out there that want to grow and learn together. I would love to join other women and have theology reading groups. The need is great!
I didn’t agree with everything in this book, but I think its overall message is much needed. I highly recommend that church leaders, women’s ministry teams, and the lay person in the pew read this book. Be aware of the need and see solutions for how to make needed changes. Let’s be passionate for truth – the truth found in God’s Word!

*I received a copy of this book free from the publisher P&R Publishing in exchange for my review.

Leave a comment